George Huxley

George Huxley

Well known for many years as a fine clarinettist, soprano and alto saxophonist. George is much in demand in the UK, Europe and the USA. His soaring soprano evokes memories of the legendary Sidney Bechet with whom he has often been compared.

"George Huxley, the Midlands best kept secret and a world class musician." - Humphrey Lyttleton

George leads his own All Star Jazz Band along with his Southern Jazz Band, both of which are very popular. He is a member of the Fryer-Barnhart International All Star Jazz Band and also fronts Reeds United together with John Maddocks.

George Huxley's Jazz Club

Change of venue

George runs his own Jazz Club in Solihull and from Thursday 28th may 2015 the venue will be:
Solihull British legion, Union Road, Solihull, B91 3DH

Star guest Night

On Thursday 28th May the Guest Stars from the USA will be Ivory & Gold featuring Jeff Barnhart Piano and Anne Barnhart Flute.

Jazz Club dates 2015

Club starts 8.30 pm. All enquiries: 01564 730098.

Public Gigs 2015

Monday 16th & Tuesday 17th March Best Western Salutation Hotel, Ambleside, Lake District.
Phone Val Hopkins on: 01539 432915

Monday 16th March
Enrico Tomasso/George Huxley's Select 7, the Louis Armstrong Ledgend plus John Hallam/John Kincaid Duo
7.30 pm to 11.00 pm

Tuesday 17th March
Enrico Tomasso/George Huxley Select 7
12.00 noon to 2.30 pm

Saturday 28th March Falcon Hotel, Bude, Cornwall, EX23 8SD
Tel: 01288 352005
Reeds United - 12.00 noon to 3.00 pm
George Huxley's All Star Jazz Band - 8.30 pm to 11.00 pm

Sunday 12th April River house barn, Manor Road, Walton on Thames, Surrey, KT12 2PF
Tel: 01932 253354
George Huxley's Southern Band
12.00 noon to 2.30 pm

Tuesday 14th April Botany Bay cricket club, East Lodge Lane, Enfield, EN2 8AS
Tel: 020 8363 4482
George Huxley's southern Band
8.30 pm to 11.00 pm

Sunday 19th April Old Barn Hall, 5 Church Road, Great Bookham KT23 3PQ
Reeds United
1.00pm to 4.00 pm

Keswick Jazz Festival

Fryer-Barnhart UK tour

Friday 22nd May Nottingham Rhythm Club, 190 Nottingham Road, NG5 1EG
Enquiries: Matt Palmer, 0115 921 2464 or 07973 882235
Huxley/Palmer Rhythmic Reeds
12.30 to 3.00pm

Sunday 31st May Jazz-A-Matazz at the Westwood Club
Heath Road, Coventry, CV4 8GP
Tel: 024 7646 6619
Jeff & Anne Barnhart with George Huxley, Matt Palmer & Nick Ward
12.30pm to 3.00pm

Friday 3rd July Jazz Evening in the Gardens of Rousham House
Bicester, Oxon
Bring your own Picnic
Tickets: Sue Baxter 01295 691011
7.30pm to 10.30pm

Saturday 4th July The Godber Centre, Hucknall, NG15 7FO
George Huxley's All Stars
7.30pm to 10.30pm

Sunday 5th July Middleton hall, Tamworth, Staffs, B78 2AE
Historic Car Day
George Huxley's All Stars
2.00pm to 5.00pm

Saturday 11th July Jazz at The Manor; Buffet, Wine and Beer
The Manor House, Solihull, West Midlands
Tickets: 0121 705 4569
George Huxley’s Jazzmen
7.30 pm - 10.30 pm

Sunday 26th July Knowle Park, Knowle, Solihull
Outdoor Event, Free Entry
George Huxley's All Star Jazz Band
2.00pm to 4.30pm

Wednesday 29th July Sutton jazz club, Walmley Social Club
4 Fox Hollies Road, Sutton Coldfield, B76 2RJ
Tel: 0121 351 1253
George Huxley's All Star Jazz Band
8.30pm to 11.00pm

Pershore Jazz Festival

Bude Jazz Festival

Saturday 12th September Stratford Arts House
Ivory & Gold with George Huxley and Nick Ward
www.stratfordartshouse.co.uk
Box Office: 01789 207100

Sunday 20th September Alcester Town Hall, 5 Henley Street, Alcester, B49 5QX
Tel: 01789 766330
George Huxley Quintet
Jazz Lunch 11.00pm to 1.00pm

Gwent Jazz Festival

Sunday 4th October Jazz-A-Matazz at the Westwood Club, Heath Road, Coventry, CV4 8GP
Tel: 024 7646 6619
Matt Palmer/George Huxley
12.30pm to 3.00pm

Thursday 5th November Nottingham Rhythm Club, 190 Nottingham Road, NG5 1EG
Enquiries: Matt Palmer, 0115 921 2464 or 07973 882235
George Huxley's All Stars
8.00pm to 10.30pm

Sunday 8th November The Seventh Street Jazz Weekend
Wessex Hotel,15 High Street, Somerset
Tel: 01458 443383 or 01237 472361
George Huxley's New Generation Jazz Band
7.30pm to 10.30pm

Friday 13th November Jazz Evening
Middleton Hall, Tamworth, Staffs, B78 2AE
George Huxley's Quintet
7.30pm to 10.30pm

Wednesday 2nd December Sutton jazz club, Walmley Social Club, 4 Fox Hollies Road, Sutton Coldfield, B76 2RJ
Tel: 0121 351 1253
George Huxley's All Star Jazz Band
8.30pm to 11.00pm